Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy | Vashisht’s five-for helps Delhi rout Uttarakhand

Hyderabad gets the better of Saurashtra in a cliff-hanger, thanks to Tanmay’s brisk half-century

Off-spinner Shivank Vashisht razed Uttarakhand to hand Delhi a 35-run win in a low-scoring Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group E contest in Rohtak on Thursday.

Playing only the second T20 of his career, Vashisht took 5/19 in his four overs as Uttarakhand, chasing 123 to win, folded for 86.

His efforts saved Delhi’s blushes after it was struggling after being put in. No. 3 Himmat Singh top-scored with 35 (34b, 3×4, 1×6) and his partnership of 24 with Nitish Rana (18b, 10b, 3×4, 1×6) was the highest of the innings as wickets kept falling.


Pradeep Sangwan’s unbeaten 25 (21b, 4×4) late in the innings provided a much-needed impetus and proved invaluable in the end. Fast bowler Mayank Mishra (3/27) and left-arm spinner Nikhil Kohli (3/11) were the chief wicket-takers for Uttarakhand.

In Sultanpur, Hyderabad got the better of Saurashtra in a cliff-hanger. Prerak Mankad (71, 46b, 4×4, 5×6) and Jaydev Unadkat (58 n.o., 32b, 6×4, 3×6) shepherded Saurashtra to 173/8 in its 20 overs. Hyderabad chased down its target with three balls to spare, with captain Tanmay Agarwal scoring a 35-ball 55.

India batsman Hanuma Vihari rolled his arm over and was perhaps the pick of the bowlers for Hyderabad, taking 2/16 in his four overs.

UP posts win

Also in Sultanpur, Uttar Pradesh defeated Chandigarh by 22 runs. Karn Sharma (60, 50b, 6×4, 1×6) and Rinku Singh (57 n.o. 29b, 4×4, 4×6) shone with the bat as UP posted 165. Chandigarh couldn’t muster a quick enough reply, finishing on 143/5 in its 20 overs. Captain Manan Vohra top-scored with 42.

Source: Read Full Article